Thursday, January 14, 2010

Triathletes of the Year!

ISM is proud to say we have two more Triathletes of The Year with Bec Wassner (non drafting), and Sarah Haskins (ITU). Both ladies compete with the Adamo Racing saddles.

Rebeccah Wassner has been named USA Triathlon’s Athlete of the Year in the non-drafting category. Wassner earned this award after a stellar 2009 season, which included wins at several high profile Olympic distance events, as well as breakthrough performances in the half iron distance.

Highlights of Wassner’s season included her thrilling come from behind victory at the St. Anthony’s Triathlon, a hometown win at the New York City Triathlon, and breaking the tape at the Philadelphia Triathlon for the third year in a row. Wassner also turned in a dominating performance with a win at the Columbia Triathlon. Consistently one of the top runners in the sport, Wassner posted the fastest 10K split by an American this year with a 34:36 on the hilly streets of Central Park.

In the longer distance races, Wassner proved that she is a force to be reckoned with by finishing 2nd in two very competitive half iron distance races. At June’s Rev3 triathlon in Middlebury, CT, she came in as a relative unknown and bravely took the lead on the bike, leaving a field of world champions to chase her. After slipping to 4th place during the run, Wassner fought back to finish second, just 50 seconds back of winner Mirinda Carfrae.

At the Muskoka 70.3, in Huntsville, Ontario, Wassner again showed her cycling prowess on the challenging bike course, leading the race until being passed during the run, again finishing 2nd to Carfrae.

“It is an honor to receive this award and to have all the hard work that went into this season recognized,” says Wassner. “Thank you to my family, friends, sponsors and fans for your support, and congratulations to my fellow athletes of the year: Sarah Haskins, Jarrod Shoemaker (ITU style racing) and Tim O’Donnell, (men’s non-ITU).”

1 comment: